Album Information

Artist: Various

Album Name: The Canterbury Tapes

Release Date: 1994

Track Listing: Disc 1:

Kevin Ayers

1. M16 (2:52)
2. There Goes Johnny (3:56)
3. Thank You Very Much (2:57)
4. Irene Good Night (3:28)

Hatfield & The North

5: Fitter Stoke Has A Bath
Calyx (8:34)
6: Let's Eat (Real Soon) (3:12)
7: Do The Lethargy Shuffle (yea yea)
Your Majesty is Like a Cream Donut (7:50)
8: Oh, What A Lonely Lifetime (2:14)
9: Shaving Is Boring
Licks For The Ladies (9:48)
10: Your Majesty Is Like A Cream Donut (Quiet)
Going Up to People and Tinkling
Your Majesty is Like a Cream Donut (Loud) (8:44)

Disc 2:


1. Hello Hello (2:54)
2. If I Could Do It All Over Again, I'd Do It All Over You (2:50)
3. As I Feel I Die (4:30)
4. Love Song Without Flute (3:21)
5. Love To Love You (2:26)
6. In The Land Of Grey And Pink (3:41)
7. Memory Lain, Hugh (4:56)
8. L'auberge Du Sanglier (A Hunting We Shall Go/Backwards) (8:27)

Kevin Ayers

9. I Believe In You (Shooting At The Moon) (3:16)
10. Gemini Child (3:13)
11. Derby Day (3:05)
12. The Clown (Interview) (0:56)
13. What About Me (The Hat Song) (3:13)
14. I'm Gonna Cry For You (Trying Hard To Know) (5:02)

Mike's Contribution: Bass on disc 2, tracks 10 and 11.

Special Notes:

Disc 1

Tracks 1 to 4 live In Holland 02/04/92, recorded from the VARA Dutch radio broadcast 19/05/92.

Tracks 5 to 8 Live performance In London For BBC radio's John Peel Show 21/11/1974.
Tracks 9 an 10 Live performance In London For BBC radio's BBC's Top Gear 19/03/1974.

Disc 2

Tracks 1 to 3 Top Of The Pops 19/08/1970
Tracks 4 to 6 Alan Black Show 11/03/1971
Tracks 7 to 8 John Peel Show 20/08/1973

Tracks 1 to 8 are included on Caravan's officially released "Songs For Oblivion Fishermen" album.

Tracks 9 to 14 were recorded from the Alan Freeman radio show 14/04/72; this was a rebroadcast of the following BBC sessions:

Tracks 9 and 14 Unknown
Track 10 Alan Black Show 20/05/1970
Track 11 Top Gear 09/06/1970
Track 12 John Peel Show 09/07/1974
Track 13 Top Gear 10/02/1970

Tracks 10, 11 and 13 are included on Kevin Ayers's officially released "Singing The Bruise" album;
Track 12 is included on Kevin Ayers's officially released "First Show In The Appearance Business" album.

This information is accurate as far as I can ascertain. However, I have cross-referenced three separate sources and each one shows slight differences.

Other Musicians:

Disc 1

Tracks 1 to 4

Kevin Ayers, Ollie Halsall, Quique Villafania - individual instrument credits unknown, but on most Ayers recordings of the period it is Kevin Ayers (vocals and guitar), Ollie Halsall (guitar and vocals), Quique Villafania (drums).

Tracks 5 to 10

Richard Sinclair (Bass an Vocals), Phil Miller (Guitar), Pip Pyle (Drums) and Dave Stewart (Organ and Piano).

Disc 2

Tracks 1 to 6

Pye Hastings (guitar an vocals), Dave Sinclair (keyboards and vocals), Richard Sinclair (bass and vocals) and Richard Coughlan (drums).

Tracks 7 and 8

Pye Hastings (guitar an vocals), Dave Sinclair (keyboards and vocals), John Perry (bass), Richard Coughlan (drums) and Geoffrey Richardson (viola).

Tracks 9 and 14


Tracks 10 and 11

Kevin Ayers (guitar and vocals), David Bedford (piano), Lol Coxhill (saxophone) and Mick Fincher (drums).

Track 12

Kevin Ayers (guitar and vocals), Rabbit (keyboards), Ollie Halsall (guitar), Archie Legget (bass) and Freddie Smith (drums)

Track 13

Kevin Ayers (guitar and vocals), Robert Wyatt (drums, backing vocals and trumpet).

Previous Page. Return to main index.